Response to Intervention

Three Tier Instructional Model 

The Three Tier Instructional Model was adopted by the State Board of Education (SBE Policy 4300) on January 21, 2005. It is designed to meet the needs of every student and consists of three tiers of instruction:


Tier 1: Quality classroom instruction based on MS Curriculum Frameworks.

Tier 2: Focused supplemental instruction.

Tier 3: Intensive interventions specifically designed to meet the individual needs of students.

If strategies at Tiers 1 & 2 are unsuccessful, students must be referred to the Teacher Support Team (TST). The TST is the problem-solving unit responsible for interventions developed at Tier 3. Each school must have a Teacher Support Team implemented in accordance with the process developed by the Mississippi Department of Education

Teacher Support Teams (TST)




Parent and Teacher Links: